Argos was platted in 1851 and called Sidney after Sidney Williams, an early settler and circuit judge. In 1859 the town was renamed Argos after the Greek city. “General Draying,” seen on the vehicle on the left, refers to a hauling service.
Marshall County (Ind.); Streets; Business districts; Storefronts; Stores & shops; Automobiles; Carts & wagons; Carriages & coaches
Brick buidings line this street in Argos, Indiana. Cars along with horses and buggies are parked in front of the businesses. Two of the businesses are Slayter Hardware Company and Wickizer Motor Company. There is an old truck with a sign on it...
View of the Holland Radiator Works factory in Breman, Indiana. The image shows several wooden buildings, most of them connected. Dirt roads surround the structures and railroad tracks run through the facility grounds. Smoke is flowing from...
Thomas R. Marshall lived in this home from 1877 until 1909 when he was inaugurated as governor. He pushed for a child labor law and voters’ registration and led a fight against capital punishment. The home is now the Whitley County Historical...
May 1, 1913
Whitley County (Ind.); Houses; Marshall, Thomas R. (Thomas Riley), 1854-1925
View of a street in the business district of Plymouth, Indiana. Several stores and buildings line the street including a bank, a pub, a restaurant, and Allman's. Two young children cross the street in the foreground. A pair of elegantly styled...
View of Main Street in Culver, Indiana. Various businesses line the street including Rector's Pharmacy. Numerous horse-drawn carriages are parked along the curbs. In the foreground, two men talk beside a wagon.
Streets; Business districts; Drugstores; Carriages & coaches; Carts & wagons
The Marshall County Courthouse in Plymouth, designed by Gordon P. Randall, was built in 1870-1872 with a clock tower over a brick and stone building. It was remodeled in 1914. A modern county courts building now sits next to the old courthouse.
Turkey Run State Park, near Marshall, Indiana, was established for Indiana’s 1916 centennial. This early suspension bridge fell and was replaced with the current structure shortly after the park opened. The bridge crosses Sugar Creek and leads to...
Parke County (Ind.); Suspension bridges; State parks & reserves
View of Plymouth Street in Bremen, Indiana. The road has not been paved yet. Several horse-drawn carriages are parked along the sides of the road while one carriage actually travels down the street. Shops and buildings line both sides of the street.
Plymouth is believed to have been named for Plymouth, Massachusetts. When it was platted in 1834, the town had only two streets—Michigan and Yellow River. Early industry included sawmills, a plow company, grain elevator, tannery, and a door...
Marshall County (Ind.); Business districts; Streets; Storefronts; Carriages & coaches; Carts & wagons
Waldron was platted in 1854 by George Stroup and at first was called Stroupville. It was renamed Waldron in 1876. A political rally was held there in 1908, the year Democrat Thomas R. Marshall was elected Indiana’s governor and Republican William...
Shelby County (Ind.); Political parades & rallies; Bands; Flags; Banners
View of a three story brick school building in Bremen, Indiana. A tower structure tops the main entrance. Two chimneys are visible on the roof. A carved area above the main door reads "Public Schools". A note on the back of the postcard states that...
The Tippecanoe Thread Mills was started in 1910 and made possible by hydroelectric power channeled by the dam on the Tippecanoe River. It was owned by the Marshall Field Estate of Chicago and employed 125 people who produced sewing and embroidery...
White County (Ind.); Factories; Thread; Sewing-- Equipment and supplies; Women
Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
Thumbnail with title
Grid with smaller thumbnails and more detail
Select the collections to add or remove from your search