Noblesville was founded in 1823 and probably named for James Noble, the first U.S. senator from Indiana. The current courthouse was completed in 1879 and heated by steam, which was considered progressive at the time.
Aerial views; Hamilton County (Ind.); Business districts; Stores & shops
View of a school in Laotto, Indiana. The large two story building has an arched entrance. There is a bell tower over the entrance. Some out- buildings and a basketball hoop are located behind the school.
La Otto was founded in the early 1870s, previously known as Simonville and Grand Rapids Crossing. Education was important, starting out in homes, moving to one-room schoolhouses and graduating to buildings such as the brick schoolhouse shown here.
View of the front of Limberlost Cabin in Rome City, Indiana. Stonework creates the porch on the first level. The second floor extends out over the porch and includes a continuous line of windows looking out towards the lake. Shade trees surround...
Cromwell was laid out in 1853 by Harrison Wood who named it for Englishman Oliver Cromwell. In 1911 the town still had a dirt Main Street, Cromwell did not see its first paved street until 1925. It is the smallest incorporated town in the county.
Noble County (Ind.); Cities & towns; Business districts; Stores & shops; Storefronts; Awnings; Dirt roads
View of Main Street in Wolcottville, Indiana. There are residences on one side of the street and businesses on the other. A utility pole in the foreground has been painted with the name of a local pharmacy.
Avilla was founded around 1835 and incorporated in 1876. In 1846, a post office was established there with Noah Hill as the first post master. Here is a view of Main Street where several horse and buggies are lined up in front of the businesses.
Noble County (Ind.); Cities & towns; Business districts; Storefronts; Carriages & coaches; Carts & wagons; Dirt roads
View of the Masonic Hall on Main Street in Kendallville, Indiana. The building is three stories tall. The first floor windows and the side of the building have "Kelly House" printed on them. Balconies ring the second floor.
Fraternal lodges; Business districts; Windows; Balconies
Ligonier was platted in 1835 by Isaac Cavin. It had a large Jewish population which began with the immigration of two men in the early 1850s. The 1980s saw the number of Jewish inhabitants dwindle. Cavin Street was where many businesses developed.
Noble County (Ind.); Cities & towns; Business districts; Storefronts; Banks; Stores & shops; Awnings; Carts & wagons; Automobiles