View of a one story brick train station in Perrysville, Indiana. Two sets of tracks run alongside the depot. Two people are waiting on the platform. The gentleman leans against the building while the other sits on top of a trunk.
The first courthouse was built in 1824 and was followed by three more within the next 50 years. The older 1866 structure pictured here was replaced by the present facility in 1925. John F. Bayard of Vincennes was the architect for the current...
April 22, 1910
Vermillion County (Ind.); Courthouses; Government facilities
View of the courthouse in Newport, Indiana. The ornate two story brick building is topped by a cupola. There is a balcony on the second floor over the front entrance. The entrance is framed by columns.
Courthouses; Cupolas; Government facilities; Balconies; Columns
Newport was laid out in 1828 by John Collett for the purpose of being the county seat and may have taken its name from Newport, Delaware. With a current population of fewer than 600, it is one of the state’s smallest centers of county government.
Vermillion County (Ind.); Cities & towns; Business districts; Courthouses; Storefronts; Crowds; Sidewalks; Streets
Cayuga was founded in 1827 and named for the city and lake in New York. One local legend, however, has it that the town was named for the sounds the Model T’s would make when the drivers would blow the horns while driving through the town.
Vermillion County (Ind.); Cities & towns; Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Storefronts; Automobiles; Sidewalks
Perrysville was laid out in 1825 on a bluff overlooking the Wabash River. It once served as an important port for flat boats on the Wabash on their way to New Orleans. It declined with the era of the railroad when it bypassed the community.
May 23, 1910
Vermillion County (Ind.); Cities & towns; Mills; Rivers; Dams
View of Snoddy's Mill in Perrysville, Indiana. The mill is a three story wood building located next to a dam made of logs. There is a sandy shoreline below the mill. Several houses and barns are scattered along the hillside beyond the mill.