James Quilliam was born in the late 1800’s near Elmore Township in Daviess County. He later worked for Baker’s Medicines out of Montgomery, Indiana. He was a door to door salesman selling flavoring extracts and spices from his wagon. Quilliam...
Daviess County (Ind.); Traveling sales personnel; Selling; Carts & wagons
View of a baptist church in Campbellsburg, Indiana. The church is a one story building with arched stained glass windows and a bell tower topping the entrance. The bell tower is capped with a weather vane. A slender brick chimney protrudes from the...
Baptist churches; Bell towers; Bells; Chimneys; Stained glass; Weather vanes
View of East Washington Street in Shelbyville, Indiana. The street is flooded and two men are paddling a flat bottom boat down the middle of the road. Businesses and homes are visible in the background. Several people stand along the edge of the...
Floods; Water; Rowboats; Business districts; Umbrellas; Streets
Interior view of the C. A. Kidwell Barber Shop in Washington, Indiana. There are five chairs for customers, each with a towel draped over the headrest. The wooden chairs have carvings on the armrests. A long mirror lines the wall in front of the...
The courthouse was built 1889-1891 by architect George Bunting in the Richardsonian Romanesque style. He included a 130-ft clock tower and used Indiana sandstone blocks with ornate stone decorations for the exterior and quartersawed oak for the...
April 26, 1916
Wells County (Ind.); Courthouses; Government facilities
View of the courthouse in Salem, Indiana. The stone building has many interesting architectural features including a soaring tower with both a clock and a bell. Horses are tied to hitching posts along the sidewalk.
The county’s first courthouse, which opened in 1816 in the county seat of Salem, was built on stilts and was nicknamed the “Stilted Castle of Justice.” The courthouse that stands today is the third and was finished in 1888.
August 12, 1908
Washington County (Ind.); Courthouses; Government facilities
This building, the third courthouse for Daviess County, was completed in 1878 and designed by architect George W. Bunting of Indianapolis. On August 27, 1927 it was destroyed by fire and replaced with a new early 20th century style building in 1929.
Daviess County (Ind.); Courthouses; Government facilities
In 1849, the tiny town, Buena Vista was platted after the New Albany and Salem Railroad, later the Monon Railroad, was extended through the county. In 1851, the town was enlarged and renamed Cambellsburg after Robert Campbell, the man who platted...
The most disastrous flood in Indiana history swept the state in March 1913. Shelbyville was known as the "Furniture City of the Middle West" and in this flood scene, a furniture shop is in view. In the 1920s there were 19 furniture factories in the...
March 25, 1913
Shelby County (Ind.); Floods--Indiana; Business districts; Furniture stores; Carriages & coaches
The town of Fredericksburg was platted in 1815. It was named after Frederick Royse, who owned the land and supervised the county surveyor. The town was later moved to higher ground due to the flooding of the Blue River at this site.
November 9, 1929
Washington County (Ind.); Cities & towns; Aerial views; Bird's-eye views; Houses; Barns; Outhouses; Yards; Fences
Image of the L. E. Morrison & Co. storefront and display windows on Washington Street in Indianapolis, Indiana. The company sells purses, luggage and trunks. Prices are visible on some of the merchandise. Advertisements in the windows indicate that...
Seven men in baseball uniforms are standing in the middle of Main Street in Goshen, Indiana. They have mits and bats with them. In the background are storefronts of buisnesses. The Owl Drug Store, Lyric, and Goshen's Variety Store are identified.
Mount Vernon was laid out in 1816 and named for George Washington's home. The town grew rapidly as it was located next to the Ohio River which provided for growth of commerce. For a time the town commercially surpassed Evansville.
View of a stump mill near the town of South Boston in Indiana. The mill is a wooden structure built over a large stump. Horses would be tied to the circular structure in the foreground and their movement would power the mill.
The Fredericksburg Covered Bridge was built between 1836 and 1838 as a toll road. It crossed the Blue River on the New Albany – Paoli road. This view shows the original bridge about 1900. It was replaced in 1916 by another wooden bridge.
Washington County (Ind.); Covered bridges; Dirt roads
Perry County has had four county seats. The first was at Troy, chosen in 1814. The second was Rome (originally named Washington and then Franklin) in 1819. Cannelton became the third in 1859. In 1994 a new county courthouse was opened in Tell City.
Perry County (Ind.); Courthouses; Government facilities
This flour mill was built in 1857 by J.C. Spink, one of the first city councilmen of Washington. He operated it with his partner until he gave up his share in 1875 after flood losses. It was destroyed by a fire in 1885 at a loss of 12,000 dollars....
Daviess County (Ind.); Mills; Mills and Mill-work; Farmers; Carts & wagons
View of an unpaved street in Aurora, Indiana. There are wooden houses on one side of the road and business buildings on the other. Some people are standing on the sidewalk, while a woman and two children are sitting on the steps of one of the...
View of Washington Street in Rensselaer, Indiana. Storefronts line both sides of the street. The buldings are primarily brick and are two and three stories high. Several of the stores have awnings over their front entrances.